Garnet Gemstone

Garnet gemstone forms beautiful cubic crystals.

Garnet is the name given to a group of gemstones known since the Bronze Age.

There are six common species, all recognised by chemical composition - Pyrope, Almandine, Grossular, Uvarovite, Green and Andradite.

Garnets are found in a myriad of colours including red, yellow, orange, green, brown, blue, purple, black, grey, wine, pink and colourless.

 garnet gemstones

The rarest Garnet displays a colour-change from blue-green in daylight to purple in incandescent light.

 andradite garnet

Another collector’s Garnet is the bright green Uvarovite usually found in small crystals in Russia and Finland, while another green Garnet is Tsavorite from Kenya, named and launched by Tiffany & Co in 1974.

 green garnet 

The most popular variety of Garnet to the general public is arguably ruby-red from Bohemia.

 garnet gemstone 

The natural crystal shape of Garnet belongs to the cubic system showing 12 distinct sides.

 garnet crystal 

Garnets are more usually found in creek beds, in metamorphic or igneous rocks.

 almandine garnet

This page was written by Magda Palmer, a gemmologist and the author of The Healing Power of Crystals, Precious Stones and Feng Shui Student Manual, which I highly recommend.

You Are Secure!

What's New

About Us

About Using Content



make money gold

crystal healing

[?] Subscribe To This Site

follow us in feedly
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Subscribe with Bloglines

Bookmark and Share